Author Topic: Theory of servo control?  (Read 2692 times)

Offline klimsTopic starter

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 2
Theory of servo control?
« on: December 23, 2008, 09:13:56 PM »
Hi guys,

Up until now I have never attempted to control servos in C, and Its been a while since I have coded in C. I have been using the basicATOM and it uses the basic laguage to control servos. It's way easy.
So I think I understand the fundamentals of how servos work and how to control them, but I was wondering how you guys are going about coding this up. So here are the questions I was thinking about. I know I'm a noob so if these questions have been asked and answered before(I cant find them) please direct me to the right place.
Are you using interrupts to control servos? This would limit the number of servos you can run right?
Do you have separate h files written that you use to control servos each servo? Or just one file that controls all?
If you are not using interrupts, can you still get servo control running in the 'background'?
How do you correlate the processor speed to pulse width? (how many instructions per second... etc)

Thanks for your help guys. I would like to get this straight in my head before I dive in and make a mess of it.

Andrew.

Offline bulkhead

• Helpful? 0
Re: Theory of servo control?
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2008, 03:48:41 AM »