Author Topic: Am I setting myself up for disaster?  (Read 1867 times)

Offline Physics FuTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Am I setting myself up for disaster?
« on: May 02, 2012, 05:46:57 PM »
I've had an idea for a robot rattling around in my head for a while, and I'm finally going to do something about it. It's like a simpler version of National Taiwan University Develops a Leg-Wheel Hybrid Mobile Robot Using LabVIEW but with the added capability to paddle. It would pretty much just be a drive train, though a novel one. I have a solid amount of experience building robots, almost everything from mechanical design to electronics. Almost everything... I've never done software before. There's always been a software team to hand if off to, but not this time. I've given programming a couple short-lived attempts before, just long enough to learn the very basics, but each were extraordinarily poorly-timed. Not this time. In two weeks, my schedule will be almost clear, and in just over a month I will begin summer vacation. I'll be keeping the software simple: no autonomous, no vision sensing, no frills - the only functions will be walking, rolling, and paddling. Is it feasible for me to go from near-0 to 60 and take this robot from start to finish in six months? At that time my time will for the most part no longer be my own, and I would like to get it finished before then.

TL;DR: Extensive robotics experience, but never programmed. Feasible to build and program somewhat complex drivetrain in six months?

PS: Wow those are some intense anti-spambot defenses.

Offline Gertlex

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 24
  • Nuclear Engineer ยท Roboticist
    • Index of Oddities
Re: Am I setting myself up for disaster?
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2012, 06:37:23 PM »
Looks straightforward enough to do, and your programming requirements are simple enough to learn from scratch.