Author Topic: Hardware selection help  (Read 1434 times)

Offline mblackwolfTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Hardware selection help
« on: August 24, 2011, 02:32:26 PM »
Hey guys,

I am relatively new to this whole robotics thing. I have tons of experience in mechanics so building the robots is no problem. I also have software and programming experience in difference language and engineering programs. However I am lacking in the computer hardware and programming of the hardware division. I am considering starting a Dex hand project of which I have all of the mechanics mapped out. It will have around 10-16 servos depending on how indepth I get. I will also need to read in control inputs from sensors connnected to a control glove (most likely accelerometers. I was wondering when talking about this level of coding would I be able to use a microcontroller or would I need to advance to a single board? Thanks

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: Hardware selection help
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2011, 09:17:20 PM »
Hi,

I guess that you by "a single board" means an SBC (Single Board Computer), as you'll need a board for whatever microcontroller you may choose.
A certain size of (modern) microcontroller can hold more than the SBC's of "yesterday" and the SBC's of today can be counted in PC-104's and the ITX family (complete PC's in very small sizes) , which you don't need.
Microcontrollers comes in a wide variety of sizes and clock speeds, from a few MHz to several hundred MHz.

I'm not sure what you're hoping to gain from using several accelerometers?
A single one and some flex sensors should be adequate, better top off with a gyro, if you want to go all out.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2011, 06:55:46 AM »