go away spammer

Author Topic: Getting started.. robot hand  (Read 3975 times)

Offline j_lyfTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Getting started.. robot hand
« on: January 02, 2011, 10:23:28 AM »
Hi all. I want to build a simple robot hand that is able to play the piano. so i guess the fingers need to be able to move up and down, but I'm not sure whether the middle joint of the finger needs freedom. I'm thinking of using Meccano to construct the robot. What do you think?

At this stage, I'm not sure where to get started. Funny because I'm a third year EE student who has done subjects on Control, microcontrollers (ARM) and embedded computing but I don't even know how to use a Servo.

Can anyone recommend any tutorials or books for me to start on this project?

Offline Kelpy

• Helpful? 0
Re: Getting started.. robot hand
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2011, 03:18:56 PM »
j_lyf.

Have a look at this simple design ;)

http://letsmakerobots.com/node/22942

Offline photomark

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2011, 05:27:16 PM »
How well would you like it to be able to play the piano ?

The human hand is the most complex machine there is

Offline azy

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2011, 07:58:46 PM »
There's a good video on there

http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=12895.0

to play the piano you can either have a set of simple levers attached to a sliding rack (think of a printer head skipping back and forth)

or

you need a robot arm with many degrees of freedom and complex hands with fingers that can lock rigid as they press down hard on the keys