Author Topic: Crust crawler arm design  (Read 2252 times)

Offline RyanSTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Crust crawler arm design
« on: June 09, 2009, 07:01:12 AM »
 I have just signed up to this forum. I have about 11 servos around from my RC plane days.   I want to use what I have to design a 5 DOF arm, it doesn't need to lift a huge amount of load, and the servos i have,  do not have a particularly high torque. This is what I have:

4  x   JR     NES-511     3500g p/cm     0.24sec p/60
4  x   Futaba     FP-S148     3024g p/cm     0.22sec/60
3     Hitec     HS-300A     3500g p/cm @ 6v     0.19sec/60°

Don't have much other information, the specifications I assume are reasonably accurate. I also have an Arduino duemilnove which I will use as the controller.

As this is my first project I essentially want to copy a design from a small commercial hobby arm.  this is the one I was looking at: http://www.crustcrawler.com/products/arm6.php?prod=11

I have drawn up an FBD based on the information from their Web site:

http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb176/Mingzhus/FBD.gif (larger)

I chose this one because it has a great detailed assembly manual online, which will be a great help in designing.

Obviously my servos  are not as strong.  What modifications would you recommend to the design? Could I for example use 2 servos for the bicep. is it possible to add gears ( externally to the servo) in order to get more torque  at a reduced speed?  I used the robot arm calculator, I doubt mine would be able to  lift much more than 100g, but I guess that's okay for experimenting with. I think the  crust crawler arm uses 2mm thick aluminium sheet, perhaps I should go with something lighter like 1.5mm.  I have a mill & lathe so building is not a problem. I'm going to design in solidworks,  if I can work out  how to stress test assemblies   Rather than just individual parts. I am definitely no engineer, I just like to mess with various software  ;D