go away spammer

Author Topic: How viable is this idea  (Read 2297 times)

Offline VeteranRobotBeginnerTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
How viable is this idea
« on: October 12, 2012, 11:39:52 PM »
I am building a robot that needs to carry a small wooden block in a straight line to a square target area upon which it will drop the block and continue on. It needs to be small enough to fit inside of a 12x12x12 inch box.

This is the idea I have for the drive system:

Those polygonal scribble shapes are supposed to be gears.

So the design involves one motor controlling all 3 wheels. The 2 front wheels are attached by a rod that has a gear around it. The back wheel is attached to a gear that is belted together with the motor gear and wheel rod gear.

How feasible is this idea? I have no mechanical background and this is my first idea, so feel free to offer me advice on how to improve it.

If I used this as my drive system, how strong of a DC motor would I need to make this work? The payload it will be carrying is a 2x2x2 inch block of wood.

Edit: Would I be better off just using two rear wheels instead of one? Should the motor perhaps be positioned directly in line with both motors so that it is connected with the belt on both sides? Should I forget the belt and go with a differential drive (2 motors controlling each of the front wheels separately)?
« Last Edit: October 12, 2012, 11:46:04 PM by VeteranRobotBeginner »

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: How viable is this idea
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2012, 02:11:14 PM »
Hi,

How feasible is this idea? I have no mechanical background and this is my first idea, so feel free to offer me advice on how to improve it.
It will only allow it to go in a straight line and if that's what you want, at least use a timing belt and the pulleys to match - front and back wheels should rotate at the same speed of course.