go away spammer

Author Topic: Using Joystick Parts For A Robot  (Read 1876 times)

Offline soninja8Topic starter

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 1
Using Joystick Parts For A Robot
« on: April 28, 2011, 01:31:01 AM »
Hi, im new to building robots so bear with me. I have a Logitech Attack 3 Joystick that has a couple of IC's and a lot of resistors capactitors and etc. I was wondering if it was possible to use these components to make a robot. I have the servos and most of the other parts. If you could lead me in the right direction that would be great! I put a picture of the main IC, it is made by
STMicroelectronics.
Here are the pictures (It wouldnt let me upload them because they were past 300kb): http://img96.imageshack.us/g/capturevqs.png/

Offline TrickyNekro

• Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 15
  • Hardware and Firmware Designer
    • The Hellinic Robots Portal
Re: Using Joystick Parts For A Robot
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2011, 02:31:01 AM »
I don't really think there is something really really usefully in there,

The IC is, by fat chance, not programmable...There are the buttons you may use and some trimmers, but nothing really worthy taking off...

But it would be indeed very interesting to rewire the controller to control a robot, learning to do all these can be educational enough.

I suspect its output is USB so, it would be difficult enough to read the USB directly with a microcontroller...

So I'll suggest, build your first robot, learn some stuff on microcontrollers, about inputs, ADCs and USARTs (or UARTs)...

And you'll be doing nice stuff in no time ;-)

Just wait until you really know, some stuff and then you probably won't even need out help.
Don't rush  ;)

Step by step and remember to K.I.S.S. ;)

Best Regards, Lefteris
Greece
For whom the interrupts toll...

Offline The arctic wolf

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2011, 04:15:58 PM »
Soninja hello,