go away spammer

Author Topic: a simple robotics project  (Read 5929 times)

Offline dmehlingTopic starter

• Helpful? 1
a simple robotics project
« on: May 27, 2007, 01:43:22 PM »
I am totally new to robotics and I need some helpful advice for the project I'm working on.  It is a very simple robotic arm with 2 degrees of freedom powered by two motors.  I want it to execute a very simple sequence of about four steps, activated by the push of a button.  What is the best type of kit or system to use?  I am thinking about using a basic stamp, but I really have no preference.  My budget is no more than $500. 
Also, I mentioned that input would come by a button, but I would like to try and have it be voice-activated.  The only way I think I could do this is by having a simple software program that is voice-activated which would control this robotic arm.  Is it very complicated to have all input for control be activated by software?

Offline NOOBinDistress

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
Re: a simple robotics project
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2007, 05:02:34 PM »
If you are a total noob like me just do the 50 dollar robot kit. It is much cheaper. Afterwards just make more robots when you kinda know what you are doing.(not that I know what I am doing) 8)

• Helpful? 1
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2007, 06:45:40 PM »
I am looking for the simplest method of controlling two motors for my robotic arm.  All I am wanting to do is to have the arm perform a simple sequence of four steps which would execute at the single press of a button.  I would really like to have the input be given from a computer program so that it can be voice-activated.

Offline ed1380

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 3
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2007, 07:40:30 PM »
mcu and have the steps programed into it. use servo's for the motion.  I'm sure certain mcu's can handle the task of voice activation,.
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?