Author Topic: Powering a peltier  (Read 6349 times)

Offline gamefreakTopic starter

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 2
  • Robo-Enthusiast
Powering a peltier
« on: October 17, 2009, 09:05:05 PM »
For a school project I am working on a mini-fridge using peltier units and I am currently wondering how to power the beasts. I have five 136.8 watt peltiers whose stats are:
VMax 15.2
IMax 9
Ohm 1.3 - 1.5
deltaTMax(celsius) 67

Using the bench top power supplies at my disposal i've only been able to get them up to 8 volts(on a good day) with 3 amps(where they quit), at that the peltiers can quickly get cold enough to freeze water and water covered fingers to them within a few seconds.

I intend to power this by plugging it in since it would require an ungodly amount of batteries. In my limited searching I havent found any wall adapter that gets anywhere near those values and it is starting to look like I may have to fashion one myself.
I have zero experience with anything above 12 volts and zero experience with AC and would rather not play with the kind of power that could kill me.

Another problem is controlling the power to the peltier. It would be nice if once the fridge is cooled that I could lower the power to the peltier. From my early days in robotics I learned that trying to make pins of a microcontroller try to source more than a few milliamps is a good way to either break the entire chip or get lucky and only that pin dies. I imagine that trying to pull 9 amps from a microcontroller would be a fun way to make it explode...
I have found some things on this subject such as building a digital to analog converter out of resistors, anyone have any thoughts on this?
« Last Edit: October 17, 2009, 09:10:20 PM by gamefreak »
All hail Rodney, the holy 555 timer
And Steve said: "Let there be lead!"

Offline Razor Concepts

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 53
    • RazorConcepts
Re: Powering a peltier
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2009, 11:35:15 PM »