go away spammer

Author Topic: Stepper motor  (Read 2665 times)

Offline drinuTopic starter

• Helpful? 1
Stepper motor
« on: December 27, 2013, 02:58:22 AM »
Hi all,

I am new to stepper motors since I always used DC brushed motors in the past. Can someone please help me with the following:

1) If a stepper is rated at 5.4V, can I use it with a 12V supply? If yes, what difference will I notice?

http://www.stepperonline.com/nema-23-stepper-motor-54v-15a-116nm1643ozin-23hs221504s-p-68.html

2) Why the maximum speed of the stepper motor is never mentioned? How can I calculate it?

3) I am using the stepper motor to drive the x-axis of a CNC. The weight of the part to be driven is approx. 25Kg (not the load) and I am using a 2010 ballscrew as the linear mover. Is a stepper motor with a torque of approx. 1Nm enough for this application?

Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: December 27, 2013, 03:01:21 AM by drinu »

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
Re: Stepper motor
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2013, 08:39:01 AM »
Here is a link to some articles on stepper motors:
http://www.micromo.com/technical-library.aspx

If you directly apply a higher Voltage than specs then the motor will over heat. Note that many on the newer stepper driver chips have current limiting built in so will allow a higher Voltage to be applied to the driver chip.

Max speed is dependent on a number of factors. One of which is the resonant frequency of the stepper. Look at some of the stepper in MicroMo's catalog and this is spec'ed.
http://www.micromo.com/stepper-motors-datasheets.aspx

As to what the stepper motor can move depends on the acceleration desired and the frictional losses in the drive system (ballscrew, table slides, bearings, etc) more than the mass (weight) of the object to be moved. You will need to measure the frictional losses yourself.

Offline jwatte

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 82
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2013, 01:19:49 PM »