go away spammer

Author Topic: Question about swinging/regulated rotation  (Read 3537 times)

Offline xgarmothxTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Question about swinging/regulated rotation
« on: February 09, 2009, 09:41:35 AM »
Hello!

I am a beginner - scouring the web, this site, and some books for a month or two now. I am going to build the $50 tutorial robot within the next few weeks.

Throughout this learning process, I have been familiarizing myself with CAD programs, and creating rough ideas for robot projects I'd like to undertake down the road, when I have more experience.

That said, I have a mechanical question. Imagine I'd like a component that swings a jointless "arm" (say, a 3' piece of PVC piping) 180 degrees. Think of it like a baseball bat. I'd like it to:

- Swing exactly 180 degrees and return to its original position.
- Be able to do so with programmable/variable speed...from a 2 second journey to a very fast, almost immediate journey.
- Be able to withstand conflicting force without damage. For example, if it swings around 160 degrees and is stopped.

What would be the best bet for this? I am somewhat new to this mechanical world; Seems like a motor wouldn't have the control - are servos that size commercially available? Can they withstand the opposition I mentioned?

Any insight into where to begin looking into this would be very helpful. Thank you!

Offline pomprocker

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
    • Nerdcore - Programming, Electronics, Mechanics
Re: Question about swinging/regulated rotation
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2009, 11:26:08 AM »
Would this swinging arm come against any force traveling the opposite direction?

Or is it just going to be cutting through the air?

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2009, 12:29:25 PM »
Thanks for the reply!