go away spammer

Author Topic: (Complete Beginner) Simple Robot?  (Read 11752 times)

Offline OscillationTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
(Complete Beginner) Simple Robot?
« on: June 22, 2008, 08:49:57 AM »
I've heard about using old window screen wiper motors to make a robot, what else do i need to buy if i want to use 2 motors on a body so that it can be controlled with a remote?

I'm a complete beginner so any help is gratefully accepted.
"Perfection At It's Best"

Offline airman00

• Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
    • Narobo.com - Mechatronics and related
Re: (Complete Beginner) Simple Robot?
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2008, 12:59:41 PM »
what exactly do you want to build

what size, how much power, what application, etc.

to drive motors you need something called a motor driver
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!

Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2008, 02:36:10 PM »
More of a remote control vehicle but robot suites its name more, just like a two wheeled controlled robot for now.

What size depends completely on the electrics side of things but i don't know exactly how large. About the size of a dinner tray i'd say.

How much power... Again, i'm a complete beginner so i wouldn't know how much power i need, its gotta be able to carry about 5kg of weight though.

Application? I don't understand, if your talking computer program then i'm not really after using a computer unless thats the easiest way.

Offline airman00

• Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2008, 10:33:32 PM »
by application I mean what will it be used for , what the robot will do , whats the purpose, etc.

now how much money are you willing to invest into this project?

your setup should be two motorized wheels( one motor for each wheel) and one caster wheel in front.

to get you started research the  following:
H bridges
DC Motors