go away spammer

Author Topic: AVRISP mkii target power error  (Read 10664 times)

Offline d13Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
AVRISP mkii target power error
« on: June 30, 2007, 01:09:58 PM »
Hi everyone.  I'm having a problem using my AVRISP mkii.  I'm very new to this so please pardon any obvious problems that I may be overlooking.

Here's the setup:
AVRISP mkii
atmega8
AVR Studio 4 (build 528)
WinAVR

The problem is that whenever I try to do anything with the atmega8 through the isp I get a "No target was detected.  Ensure that the target has power".  The status light is initially off and stays solid red when I try to communicate.  I did the initial firmware update when prompted by AVR Studio when I first tried to connect to the ISP.  I also did a manual firmware update, but I still have the same problem.  I have a 4.7kOhm resister from RESET to Vcc.  I tried both a 1kOhm and a about 260ohm as well.  I am able to change the ISP Frequency and it is currently set to 125 kHz.

I have put up a few images of the circuit and a few AVR Studio screen shots.

http://corruptionexperiment.com/misc/mkii_error/index.html

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
« Last Edit: June 30, 2007, 02:56:18 PM by d13 »

Offline rgcustodio

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
  • Use "Search" and ye might find answers!
Re: AVRISP mkii target power error
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2007, 12:24:14 AM »
Your ISP wiring seems to be correct.
Using your voltmeter, verify the voltage to the VCC pin it should be equal to your supply voltage (+5V in this case).

Nice work on the photos!
Good luck.
The best thing one can do when it's raining is to let it rain. - H. W. Longfellow

understanding is the path to enlightenment

Offline d13Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2007, 09:14:42 AM »
Your ISP wiring seems to be correct.
Using your voltmeter, verify the voltage to the VCC pin it should be equal to your supply voltage (+5V in this case).