Author Topic: what is the best (cheapest) way to get into micro-controllers  (Read 4359 times)

Offline everettdaleTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
As the story usually goes, I've always wanted to build a robot. But I'm not sure how to start. etc. What I want to know right now is about micro-controllers.

I've seen MCs for as little a a few bucks each, but sometimes the programmers cost hundreds. Then again, sometimes the programmers are only 20 dollars or so but the software to run them is expensive. Then of course there is the programing language and the learning curve that that implies, plus the upwards of a grand for a really nice suite of language/debug tools....

Is there a way to get started (from scratch, although I do have a computer already) with MCs for under $100.00? I'm really new to this so you are going to need to dumb it down as much as possible. And I kinda like the idea of really cheap MCs so when I do something that releases the magic smoke I'm only out a few bucks.

Thanks

-everettdale

BTW this site is really cool

Offline WaterPig Master

• Helpful? 3
  • Hurdy Gurdy playing at Raglan
    • WaterPigs.co.uk
Re: what is the best (cheapest) way to get into micro-controllers
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2011, 03:33:06 AM »
No time for a proper reply now, but: PICs can be programmed with assembly language or Hi-Tech C (without the paid enhancements — you will not need them) for the cost of a programmer — I got a Pickit 2 clone and universal ZIF board for £22. I have not yet paid for a PIC, as Microchip's free samples program provides me with whatever I want, so long as I don't want more than six of them, every month or so.

I would recommend the Pickit 2 or 3 — get yourself a starter kit (comes with a premade board and lessons). PK2 for assembly, PK3 if you want to get started in C (I think). Either will cost you no more than about £50.