go away spammer

Author Topic: Are kits a good way for a beginner to start?  (Read 1726 times)

Offline robot123Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Are kits a good way for a beginner to start?
« on: August 29, 2012, 04:20:36 PM »
Hi,

I am new on the Society of Robot Forums.  I have very little experience building robots, I have only put together a couple of easy kits that haven't worked :(  I would like to start over with something really simple.  Would a kit, such as the "Wall Hugging Mouse" from Tamiya, be a good place to start out?  It is apparently of one the more simple kits out there.

Thanks,

Offline beachboy612

• Helpful? 0
Re: Are kits a good way for a beginner to start?
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2012, 04:46:23 PM »
I havent done any kits, but I would say the $50 robot would be great to do.  I did it as my first project and learned a lot, although it ended up costing a little less than 150 because the tutorial assumes you have many of the items.  plus, the shippng charges accumulate.

Offline knossos

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 14
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2012, 07:38:51 PM »
I wouldn't recommend the wall hugging mouse.  Very little to learn with a kit like that.  What to recommend can very a lot depending on your background and resources available to you.  Tell us a little about your background and what kind of robot you are thinking about building and hopefully we can point you in the right direction.  The $50 robot is an excellent starting point but IMO if you have no electronics experience at all, some basic electronics projects would serve you better as a  starting point.  If you have little or no experience programming, I would recommend learning C/C++ and that can be done without any $$ invested by downloading a free compiler and doing some online tutorials.
"Never regret thy fall,
O Icarus of the fearless flight
For the greatest tragedy of them all
Is never to feel the burning light."

— Oscar Wilde

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot