go away spammer

Author Topic: New to robotics, creating UI Automation robot for Smart phones & Tablets  (Read 2515 times)

Offline Knudmt_MSTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Hello all!

I am a software developer for a large company. We have a need to build a robot prototype that would perform UI automation tests on tablets and smart phones. We started with just a couple actuators which works well, but they are terribly slow. I was doing some searching and I would like to make something similar to this: OptoFidelity Two Fingers -robot
Of course they have spent years, and hundreds of thousands of dollars on development. But I would like to break there design down to simple components. for the fingers I don't mind using high speed linear actuators, unless someone can tell me what the components are that they use in the video are.

1. How do you guys feel about linear actuators for fingers? (high speed of course)
2. I really like having the ability to move the fingers forward, backwards, side to side. What kinds of parts would I need for this. looks like the video uses some kind of small track.
3. where the french toast can I get these parts? (I'm not too worried about price less than $5K would be good)
4. currently I have 2 actuators that each require their own control board and USB connection. If I start adding more parts how can I considerate multiple parts to one USB? (there has to be some kind of kick butt control board that has this ability)

Thoughts? Advice? Any insight is appreciated!

-Matt

Offline newInRobotics

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
1. How do you guys feel about linear actuators for fingers? (high speed of course)