go away spammer

Author Topic: New project!  (Read 2159 times)

Offline nahuaTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
New project!
« on: June 14, 2009, 04:49:12 AM »
Hello,

I'm a first year student of robotics and now with the exams finished I wanted to start my own new project which I am sure I will need your help for. I have been reading this forum and every tutorial since I joined a couple of months ago and it really helped me for some projects for uni so I thank everybody for making a good forum and webpage just like this one. I first hope this is the right part of the forum where to put it as I mainly need help with the software.

What I'm planning to do is to make my lawn mower at home "autonomous" so I don't have to do it when I go back :P. I know, it might be a big thing and thats why I will be starting from a small prototype and if it work I will then make a 1:1 scale of the lawn mower prototype and if it then work I will move to modify my lawn mower.

what I'm planning to do is to make the robot move through a map (the garden) but in a special sequence. So I would like it to go forward, parallel to the wall, when it finds the end of the garden, move 90 degrees go forward parallel to the wall until the garden ends then move 180 degrees and go back and more or less like that.

Now knowing the basis of how it should work Ill give a more detailed description: I will use a frontal sonar to detect when it is at "x" cm of the wall and to find obstacles. it will also have 2 encoders which I was planning to use the disc method with photoresistors for the first prototypes to measure the distance and then go through the map. Then, 2 IR sharp sensor on each side for obstacle avoidance and to measure the distance between the walls. For all that I might use the arduino duemilanove as its quite simple to use and i have been using it for the last weeks.