go away spammer

Author Topic: New to robotics; Lots of questions  (Read 2463 times)

Offline PyroTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
    • www.canadian-customs.com
New to robotics; Lots of questions
« on: September 04, 2009, 08:02:41 PM »
Hey everyone.  I'm new to robotics (as the title implies), and would like to jump in head first with my own project.  I have done some work with electronics, but just have some basic knowledge of how things work, nothing too advanced.  I do program a bit, and have used HTML/CSS/JavaScript, as well as some C++ and quite a bit of Visual Basic.  I have always been good with anything that I do with my hands, so I'm hoping I'll catch on fast :)

For right now, I'm just wanting to get a chassis constructed and have the essential electronics to get it to a mobile and programmable state, and then expand from there.  This will be a moderately small rig (about the size of a 1/16th or 1/18th scale RC car, if that helps at all).  I am making the chassis myself, and will be fabricating almost everything myself.  One thing that I'd really like to do is to be able to build my own electronics, and I feel that would greatly improve my understanding of how everything works, and would be a fun project.  I'm not sure if there are certain things that are not possible for someone to build or not, so that's my first question; What do I need, and am I able to build it myself?  I would like to be able to run Linux on this robot, so I'd like to be able to incorporate my own memory in some way (SD card?).

So right now I'm just kind of brainstorming and trying to find a fun little project.  As mentioned above, I basically just need to know if this task is possible. 

Thanks,

- Pyro

Offline Half Shell

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
Re: New to robotics; Lots of questions
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2009, 08:32:00 PM »