Author Topic: Question on feasibility for a beginner  (Read 1896 times)

Offline XefanTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Question on feasibility for a beginner
« on: January 09, 2009, 04:34:14 PM »
Hi. First off, apologies for the beginner post, I know they're not the most exciting to deal with but I have read the stickied posts and such regarding beginner questions and feel my question is a fair one to ask.

I would like to have a go with robotics, but I have a specific goal in mind. I've got good knowledge of AI as implemented in software on the PC platform such as topics including genetic algorithms, neural networks, symbolic AI, swarm AI and so on as well as some slightly more robotic oriented concepts like subsumption architectures and so on. I also have a good understanding of software development from large scale application architecture down to low level problem solving due to being a software developer for an engineering firm by profession. From a computer science and maths point of view I've got a strong understanding of many areas of both pure maths and mechanics with a particular interest and understanding of theoretical concepts such as Turing machines, URMs and also real world implementations built off these underlying mathematical concepts such as x86 architecture and assembly. I mention my abilities not with the intention of sounding like I'm showing off in anyway but so that people will hopefully be able to answer my question with a focus on what I don't know rather than what I already do know! ;)

What I don't know, is really anything about actually building a robot and I've never had an awful lot of electronics experience bar replacing a few components such as blown capacitors in old CRT monitors many years back when I was a junior IT technician and had to fix them.