Author Topic: need advice on navigation, wheel configuration, motor types, etc.  (Read 7120 times)

Offline thomasaconwayTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Hello all,

I am trying to build a programmable bot that will move in straight lines, turn at specified angles, move in an arc for a specific distance, basically move so that it is able to paint a specific shaped field, for my example, a soccer field.

I know that it would be difficult and expensive to actually make one off the bat that would be able to actually paint a full sized field (this is a two semester project for school), so part of my project is working according to certain assumptions:

1) i will paint a 1/6th scale field
2) the field will actually be a flat auditorium floor (not turf)
3) there will be no obstacles on the "field"

I have never built a robot before, or programmed one, though I have been reading a lot of tutrials from this site.

My question is, I need this bot to perform the motions that I described in the beginning.  I am on a tight budget ($500).  What method is there that would be the most simple to allow this type of robot motion and control?  I have read the tutorial on encoding and think that is useable - but is it accurate enough?  I would obviously like to keep it simple as possible so i don't kill myself with the programming end of it.  I also have no idea what type of controller i should use. 

I also need the robot to stop on a dime - i'm assuming i need this to make sure my odometry measure is accurate.  My current design is to have the robot motored by two front wheels sharing an axle and steering done by a third wheel (like a backward tricycle).  Please, ANY suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Offline Gopher

• Helpful? 0
Re: need advice on navigation, wheel configuration, motor types, etc.
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2006, 03:32:21 PM »
Well, I'm hardly an expert myself, but I'll share my thoughts for what they're worth.