Author Topic: 50 dollar robot  (Read 4727 times)

Offline HardLiquorTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
50 dollar robot
« on: December 21, 2009, 01:26:41 PM »
 Newbie here...I have some vintage programming knowledge and not much on the electronics side of the house.  Am very interested in robots and have been for some time.  This site is amazing and kudos to thetalented gentleman who has put it together. 

I've read the 50 robot tutorial and have ordered some of the basic components.  I was at a bit of a tossup wheter to buy a board ready to go or to build my own.  I've opted to try to build my own for a first go just for the challenge of doing it. 

I'm wondering though if the 50 dollar robot platform will support Bluetooth integration?  My ultimate short term goal in the world of robots is to build something of a security robot that can stream live footage to the web while doing either autonomous patrol indoors or remote control via web interface and Bluetooth.  Have no clue how to get to that point past the 50 robot but certainly see the 50 dollar robot as a fun and essential step in learning the very basics of this exciting hobby.

Forgive any errors...am writing from my iPhone.

Offline SmAsH

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: 50 dollar robot
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2009, 04:42:27 PM »
Newbie here...I have some vintage programming knowledge and not much on the electronics side of the house.  Am very interested in robots and have been for some time.  This site is amazing and kudos to thetalented gentleman who has put it together. 
Heil Admin.

I've read the 50 robot tutorial and have ordered some of the basic components.  I was at a bit of a tossup whether to buy a board ready to go or to build my own.  I've opted to try to build my own for a first go just for the challenge of doing it. 
Well, personally i support building you own boards... This is because: