go away spammer

Author Topic: Asus router & Axon  (Read 6154 times)

Offline Rent2OwnTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Asus router & Axon
« on: November 10, 2011, 07:57:09 PM »
http://todbot.com/blog/2010/12/16/wifi-for-arduino-with-asus-wl-520gu/

Is there Axon equivalent software (step 4 in the project linked) to interface easily with this Asus WL-520gu router?  I'm new to networking/programming and am hoping this step by step build won't be too hard to follow.

My goal is to use a router & webcam to control a vehicle from a laptop. 

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Asus router & Axon
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2011, 01:48:29 AM »
Do you just want wireless or must it be wifi? Does it have to be the Asus specifically or any router?

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2011, 09:55:02 AM »
I've read that WiFi can have more range than bluetooth.  And if this will work with an Asus, it will be cheaper than buying the bluesmirf and dongle.  

The router doesn't have to be an Asus, but it's nice to have the steps laid out like in the linked build.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2011, 10:29:57 AM by Rent2Own »

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2011, 11:06:04 AM »
What range you need? You can get 100m with bluetooth class 1.

Plenty of serial to wifi adapters.

Also worth considering my Zigbee wireless product:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon_mote/

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2011, 12:02:26 PM »
The Asus router used in that project is $25 on Amazon (after a rebate).  The serial to wifi adapters I browsed were several times as expensive.  I've already bought the Axon, so the mote would be overkill and still more money than this router.  I had also planned to run the webcam through the router. Bluetooth can't send as much info. (i.e. video) as WiFi, right?