go away spammer

Author Topic: The Butler Bot  (Read 2603 times)

Offline yash25Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
    • The Workshop
The Butler Bot
« on: July 03, 2009, 03:57:55 AM »
Hi! Im an amateur robotics enthusiast  and i've built a lot of BEAM robots till date ( around 10) . However i'm absolutely new to microcontroller based robotics. Now I am very interested in building the Butler robot , which i saw very recently here, http://www.instructables.com/id/Build-Your-Own-Butler-Robot/
Now, I want to make a slight modification in this particular model, i.e I want to build my own microcontroller circuit as the brain to this bot. Now, can anybody suggest, how i should start going about this?
Also, i am confused about where to start from, the mechanics(as suggested by the author of the link) or the electronics...
Thanks to all!
Scientists dream about doing great things. Engineers do them.

Offline SmAsH

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: The Butler Bot
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2009, 04:24:59 AM »
ahh, eric's butler robot...
well, first you should decide on what sensors you want the robot to have...
then you should decide what you want the robot to look like... maybe make a cad of it.
electronics are quite flexible, you have a wide choice...

if you use a microcontroller you will want lots of sensor inputs and digital outputs...
the axon http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon has over 55 I/O ports to use, so something like that is idle...
you could keep most of the stuff the same as eric's robot but use something else for vision.
ie, the blackfin cam, cmucam etc...
Howdy

• Helpful? 0
    • The Workshop
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2009, 04:50:21 AM »
okay..well, a couple more doubts!
what kinds of sensors would you recommend? because i've only handled IR sensors and LDR's and TSOP's( i think i've just worked with a TSOP once), so basically, i barely know what to do as far as sensors are concerned!