go away spammer

Author Topic: C++ tutorials.  (Read 2330 times)

Offline Mr. NinjaTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
C++ tutorials.
« on: May 16, 2012, 03:32:34 PM »
Hello,

I'm looking to build a four legged robot (I'm new to this, aside from the Internet  :P) that follows a light, and auto-adjusts for its balance (the centre part, with the board). I would like to learn C++ for this, but I need to learn it first. I found a website, www.cprogramming.com, but when I tried to compile it, it didn't work, so I would like to find a tutorial that another person who has tried it and had success.

Also, once this issue is resolved, I would like to find the code that would be necassary to include an 8 axis speedometer, also, how to develop the code necessary to use LEDs to detect light.

Offline newInRobotics

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
Re: C++ tutorials.
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2012, 02:22:04 AM »
Hi there  :)

I'm looking to build a four legged robot (I'm new to this, aside from the Internet  :P) that follows a light, and auto-adjusts for its balance (the centre part, with the board).
Only my opinion, but if You've never built robot before, go for wheeled robot rather than the one with legs. As You mentioned light following bot, then The $50 Robot is what you're looking for.

I would like to learn C++ for this, but I need to learn it first.
To start with - C++ concepts will not do any good in microcontroller programming, moreover, I don't think there are C++ compilers for microcontrollers. What You probably want to learn is C. Other reasonable choices might be: ASM and C# (.NET). Currently, C is very popular, widely adopted, plus, You can find many cheap microcontrollers that come with C compiler.

I found a website, www.cprogramming.com, but when I tried to compile it, it didn't work, so I would like to find a tutorial that another person who has tried it and had success.