Author Topic: Beginner question: Speed control of robot wheels  (Read 2120 times)

Offline abbyboy86Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Beginner question: Speed control of robot wheels
« on: February 14, 2013, 08:40:56 PM »
Ok so I am an absolute beginner at robot building.. Though I have been studying like a complete maniac for the past few weeks, and have a degree in electronics but that degree was 4 years back and I dont think I remember much now!
Imagine a protoboard held horizontally..
Basically the circuit on my protoboard is is an H-bridge driver using bipolar transistors on the right.. there is a pic 16f57 at the left... in the center there is a voltage regulator.. I put this along with a pot to vary the voltage to the HBridge circuit... Please suggest me a better way if there is any... Earlier I had put an opamp as well but I removed it now..

I think I will use a 10.8V battery for the motor and a 7.2V for the microcontroller.. Is that fine ?

The main problem which I am facing is that I want to control the voltage in order to control the speed of the motors using my PIC...

What I thought was to attach voltage regulators, positive and negative.. and then use an op-amp to amplify voltage given by a microcontroller and feed the output to the regulators.. the analog input was 0.0517v to the opamp.... That output could be fed to the voltage regulator..

But for now I have removed the op-amp, and im thinking of directly feeding the battery voltage to the LM317, and LM337 (which unfortunately I don't have right now).. Ultimately, I would want to use a microcontroller code and give input to the adjust terminal of the regulator to vary the speed...

edit: i've attached a photo of the circuit...
« Last Edit: February 15, 2013, 05:23:19 AM by abbyboy86 »

Offline jwatte

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 82
Re: Speed control of robot wheels
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2013, 09:57:09 PM »
that degree was 4 years back and I dont think I remember much now!