Author Topic: Working with a sonar  (Read 1659 times)

Offline macbookTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Working with a sonar
« on: August 14, 2010, 02:50:42 AM »
Hi,
I wanna use sonar in one of my projects. I wish to use a sonar for obstacle avoidance & path mapping, mainly using it to analyze the surrounding environment i.e., calculating distances from walls and other obstacles.
I've never used a sonar before. What kind of a output does a sonar give? How does it tell the distance of the obstacle to the microcontroller?
I also read somewhere on SoR that sonar can also be used to detect how hard of soft a material is. How does it do that? As in, how does it tell the microcontroller that abt a material's hardness or softness. Again basically the question is what kind of output does it send to the microcontroller?
Reply soon.
Thank you. :)

Offline HyperNerd

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 5
  • N3rd1n80r
Re: Working with a sonar
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2010, 05:33:28 AM »
I will assume that you have already read this page: http://www.societyofrobots.com/sensors_sonar.shtml

It really depends on which sonar sensor you choose to use in your project - some (the PING))) sensor by Parallax for example) use 1 I/O pin for both triggering the sensor and reading back data. These tend to output a pulse whose length determines the distance detected.

Others such as the MaxSonar range, have multiple output choices such as pulse width (the same as the PING))) sensor), analog voltage output (the same as the analog SharpIR sensors) or digital serial output.

If you already have experience using the SharpIR range, then the MaxSonar range would probably be the easiest integration, as they can use the same type of interface, thus requiring very little code adjustment.

Good luck with your project  :)

-HyperNerd
There are 10 types of people in the world - those who understand binary, and those who don't.

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173