Author Topic: HELP NEEDED! microphone interfacing  (Read 22462 times)

Offline weeramanTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
HELP NEEDED! microphone interfacing
« on: May 18, 2007, 01:10:27 AM »
HI,
I'm an undergraduate from Sri Lanka in engineering and currently involved in a robotic project.
This project is about making a care taker robot which will find it's master by sound source localization.

We are intending to build an autonomous robot with PC motherboard on it for processing.
For voice localization we need to connect four microphones to the mother board.
For that we need an advice or a way,
If anybody interested please reply,

Rgds
Nilanka

Offline Somchaya

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
  • You know it's cute!
Re: HELP NEEDED! microphone interfacing
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2007, 01:34:14 AM »
Hmmm, if you have very accurate timing, you can determine the time difference between hearing the sounds on each of the microphones, and from that you can triangulate the position of the source. That's kind of how our ears do it.

Alternatively, you can work on volume, and turn such that the left/right microphones receive similar volume. Something like that can probably be extended to 4 microphones..
Somchaya - Back after a year of misc things
http://whisker.scribblewiki.com

Offline dunk

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 21
    • dunk's robot
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2007, 03:41:04 AM »
for the hardware i'd recommend 4 USB sound cards.
(far easier to use commodity hardware than design your own.)

dunk.

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2007, 07:35:42 AM »
These might help for ideas:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=369.msg2313#msg2313
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=283.0