go away spammer

Author Topic: I'm new here, and building a robot (designing stage)!  (Read 3540 times)

Offline MadMaxTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
I'm new here, and building a robot (designing stage)!
« on: September 11, 2007, 01:53:09 PM »
Hello fellow-robotics,

My story (skip this if you want ;))
the story was really strange. All of the sudden, totally obsessed by walking robots, I got in attack mode and started hunting for quadrupeds and hexapods on youtube. I was amazed by the complexity of the robots. I'm a C++ coder for several years now and always had the urge to code something not 'on a computer', a robot, walking on it's own.

Yadda-yadda-yadda. I watched a video, and it ended with: "www.societyofrobots.com". Offcourse I checked the site out, watched some tutorials and registered. I had a chat with my father (yup, I'm still a youngster) and he is a great robotics programmer too :D... Or at least, was. 10 years ago...

But (thankgod) he still had some microprocessors laying around (PIC16F84), various resistors, batteries, a "PICSTART plus" and other components. So I plugged some basic stuff into a prototyping board. Took the serial cable out of the box and went hunting for a serial port... Yeah, right. Apparently, my newly-bought, kickass computer doesn't have a COM-port. So much for the 'kickass' part ;).
Quickly we got one of our old computers out of the box, installed Win98, the new MPLAB and: "Your firmware is out of date" ... Lol, my dad's PICSTART plus has revision number 4 ;).

So: My dad and I want to start programming, he bought the picstart upgrade. And I'm waiting for it ;)

My robot