Author Topic: Capacitor Basics  (Read 3385 times)

Offline elixierTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
  • http://www.techiesworld.org
    • http://www.techiesworld.org
Capacitor Basics
« on: August 16, 2007, 12:29:40 PM »
I understand the role capacitors play in electronics and even understand the formulas involved. However, I have never understood when to choose a certain type of capacitor, and in some cases, the rating for the capacitor.

Case in point. I know that most ICs require, or its recommended that they have, bypass capacitors between the GND and VCC pins. On very rare occasion, the IC manufacturer will state the size of capacitor. More often than not, they don't. I'm not exactly sure how to derive the size of the capacitor from the data in the data sheet. I'm still learning to read data sheets and am having to teach myself, so that may be part of the problem. Something tells me trial and error play a part here, but I want to be sure. How can I tell if I should use a .1uf or 47uf or whatever capacitor. I know that I should know this, but alas, I don't.

Also, most engineers use polarized electrolytic capacitors for bypass applications. Why not use tantalum or an unpolarized disk capacitor? In any case, why use one type over the other? I have scoured introductory electronics texts for this information and it seems that without fail, they show the various formulas, explain what a farad is and describe the differences in capacitor types, but never explain when to use a particular type or why. This has got to be something that is taught. Components are just to expensive to play guessing games with.