go away spammer

Author Topic: What`s your expensive mistakes?  (Read 6518 times)

Offline Fredrik AnderssonTopic starter

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
What`s your expensive mistakes?
« on: September 28, 2007, 07:40:24 AM »
Yeah, we have all done mistakes while working on robots, right? Fried stuff and such. It would be interesting to know what accidents everyone have got into and what it have cost.

Even though i am a beginner i have already fried four servos and a CMUcam (which makes me wonder if it`s maybe cause i am a beginner) for a total cost of about 250 dollars. That hurts :(

Now you list your accidents!
Current project: Pirrh - Portable Intelligent Round Rolling Hexapod

Offline hgordon

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 7
    • Surveyor Robotics Journal
Re: What`s your expensive mistakes?
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2007, 08:04:01 AM »
I'm not a beginner, but I regularly make mistakes like reversing the power connections when testing prototypes, reversing transistors on designs, and sometimes installing the wrong headers or connectors.  Probably the most expensive set of mistakes was with a prototype processor board that cost about $1000 to design and build just for 2 boards.  The processor module had "border pads" for soldering, and I took a shortcut of using a hotplate to flow the solder for mounting instead of hand-soldering the 80 pads.  The result was that one processor never worked, and the other had bad flash memory.   I could have ordered more processor modules, but at $250 each, I decided to instead wait for the next prototype revision, and the wait was the most expensive part of the error.
Surveyor Corporation
  www.surveyor.com

Offline JonHylands

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Builder/ Software Developer
    • Jon's Place
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2007, 08:16:59 AM »