Author Topic: beginner question  (Read 1940 times)

Offline monsieurpoTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
beginner question
« on: October 06, 2010, 05:48:42 PM »
 ;D hi im new to robotics and my goalm is to control a servo with my keybord

my questions are:

is that possible?

how the heck can i do that?

what material will i need (mcu?) ?

what language should i learn?

is that easy?

are you bored to read at my question? ;D

thank you!

Offline knossos

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 14
Re: beginner question
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2010, 08:23:50 AM »
;D hi im new to robotics and my goalm is to control a servo with my keybord

my questions are:

is that possible?
how the heck can i do that?
what material will i need (mcu?) ?
what language should i learn?

You can do this pretty easily using a microcontroller connected via UART to either a Comm port or through USB.  Any mcu with a UART can be used, although I would recommend one with an USB connection.  For example, I use the Axon II which has multiple UARTs.  UART 1 is through the USB connection.

What language you need to learn depends on the microcontroller you choose, but many support C.  I would probably recommend an Arduino or clone since they are fairly user friendly and have low cost options.  As I said before, I use an Axon II and I'm really happy with it so far, just as easy to use but it does cost more.
"Never regret thy fall,
O Icarus of the fearless flight
For the greatest tragedy of them all
Is never to feel the burning light."

— Oscar Wilde

Offline moltrex84

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2010, 01:48:50 PM »
Hello,