go away spammer

Author Topic: IRON MAN FACEPLATE - Basic SERVO Help - Guidance on how to set up this project  (Read 14144 times)

Offline IRONMANTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Hi there

I'm new to Robotics and have a project I need to accomplish,  

I am an iron man fan and I have an iron man Helmet and would like to open the face plate.
I already have it planned out where to go and the setup to make this work. It works, I would just need to set up the motors to power it.
I just need to know how to use the servo.  I want to control it manually . Possibly 2 servos to lift up the faceplate and move it back down.
It would only require the servo to just go back and fourth 180 each way. No need to hack it or anything like that.

A simple set up with no programming needed controlling it manually but not using a massive RC controller if possible because the switch would need to be concealed in the costume somewhere for easy access.

how would I go about doing this and what parts would I need to accomplish this task?

I know this is a very noobish question but I had no luck searching for a basic set up I needed
hope someone out there can help me out.

Thank you all.

« Last Edit: December 13, 2009, 04:02:25 AM by IRONMAN »

Offline Razor Concepts

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 53
    • RazorConcepts
No programming needed:

Instead of the 50k pot, you can have a switch and a 50k ohm resistor.

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Thank you for the reply

I'm really confused and dont really understand the diagram and what each indivudual labelled part is.

is there a simpler way of explaining it?  
I just need to make the servo go 180 one way and then back 180 again manually.

once again I appreciate the help so far

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Hi,

This is better suited for such a project, as it's push button controlled (one push button for each direction as it stands).
Regards,
Søren