Author Topic: Im new at robotics and need HELP.  (Read 8060 times)

Offline itlnTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Im new at robotics and need HELP.
« on: September 21, 2006, 04:49:16 PM »
I have built 2 robots from kits and want to start building from scratch. But I have almost no knowledge on what parts do and how much they cost and I hate to have to do all that research. I want to talk to a real person and not just a book or web page.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2006, 06:32:29 PM by itln »

• Helpful? 0
Re: Im new at robotics and need HELP.
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2006, 04:00:32 PM »
I know I need to do research. But I've bought 2 books and am getting nowhere. I just wish there was a free online scource that told you everything. I read plenty of sites but I never really grasp any of it. Also another factor is cash. I have read dozens of sites that say Im going to need hundreds of dollars (normally 100 to 200) and I am really tight for money lately. I can buy mabye a third of the stuff they want me to and then what do I have. Half of a robot that can roll down a hill but I have to push it first.

Offline dunk

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 21
    • dunk's robot
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2006, 04:34:04 PM »
a friend of mine built this as his first bot:
http://robotroom.com/Sandwich.html
with the sort of money you are looking at it would be a good option.
the most expensive components would be the motors.
you have to but the guy's book for instrucions but it's suposed to be a good book.
http://robotroom.com/RBFB.html

good luck!

dunk.

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2006, 06:28:12 PM »