go away spammer

Author Topic: $50 robot compiling error  (Read 10233 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kpmcgurkTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 152
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Love?
    • Probotic world (in progress)
$50 robot compiling error
« on: February 22, 2009, 09:26:46 AM »
When I compile my code i keep getting this error,

Photovore_v1.c:108: fatal error: opening dependency file .dep/Photovore_v1.o.d: No such file or directory
compilation terminated.
make: *** [Photovore_v1.o] Error 1
Build failed with 1 errors and 0 warnings...


What do i do?
some people are just Born smart, but some people have to work for it, and those are the people who succeed.

http://www.proboticworld.com

Offline kpmcgurkTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 152
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Love?
    • Probotic world (in progress)
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2009, 06:11:37 PM »
bump, does anyone know what kind of error i am  getting and how to resolve it????
some people are just Born smart, but some people have to work for it, and those are the people who succeed.

http://www.proboticworld.com

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
    • RazorConcepts
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2009, 06:22:07 PM »
Did you modify the code or name of the .aps file?

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
    • Nerdcore - Programming, Electronics, Mechanics
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2009, 06:31:19 PM »
I believe your makefile is looking for a file by that name in that directory!! If its not there then put it there!!

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,176
  • Helpful? 5
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2009, 08:50:11 PM »
You most likely named something wrong. Go over the programming part of the tut again, do it EXACTLY the way it says.
Robots are awesome!

Offline kpmcgurkTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 152
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Love?
    • Probotic world (in progress)
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2009, 04:25:44 PM »
ya i have renamed it at least 10 times, moved it into sub folders, and all in the same folder, and i keep getting the same error. I did everything the same as the Tut. I will keep trying :(

I will keep you posted!!
some people are just Born smart, but some people have to work for it, and those are the people who succeed.

http://www.proboticworld.com

Offline yerbie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2009, 05:02:27 PM »
which OS are you compiling on?  What does your makefile look like?  Also can you post the whole output?

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,165
  • Helpful? 111
    • Webbot stuff
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2009, 09:14:57 PM »
Are you compiling from within the AVRStudio IDE or are you using a make file from the command prompt? What version of AVRStudio are you using and on what platform (Win XP/Vista etc)?

I have a feeling you may be using Vista - in which case check out this link http://www.madwizard.org/electronics/articles/winavrvista
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline yerbie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2009, 09:44:02 PM »
Are you compiling from within the AVRStudio IDE or are you using a make file from the command prompt? What version of AVRStudio are you using and on what platform (Win XP/Vista etc)?

I have a feeling you may be using Vista - in which case check out this link http://www.madwizard.org/electronics/articles/winavrvista


Hey, that was the exact link i was going to send as well :P

Offline kpmcgurkTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 152
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Love?
    • Probotic world (in progress)
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2009, 07:50:49 PM »
yes, i am on vista, and i have loaded all three versions that admin had me download. are there other versions that i should have?
some people are just Born smart, but some people have to work for it, and those are the people who succeed.

http://www.proboticworld.com

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,165
  • Helpful? 111
    • Webbot stuff
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2009, 09:09:21 PM »
yes, i am on vista, and i have loaded all three versions that admin had me download. are there other versions that i should have?

Make sure you re-read the link I gave you. The problem may not be with AVR stuff - the problem is with Vista.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline yerbie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2009, 09:11:33 PM »
yes, i am on vista, and i have loaded all three versions that admin had me download. are there other versions that i should have?

You'll need to patch winavr since you are using vista.  Read the link from webbot and follow the instructions.

Offline kpmcgurkTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 152
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Love?
    • Probotic world (in progress)
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #12 on: February 26, 2009, 07:37:37 AM »
woot, more vista problems!!!!!!!!!! *end sarcasm* thanks guys for the help!!!
some people are just Born smart, but some people have to work for it, and those are the people who succeed.

http://www.proboticworld.com

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,703
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #13 on: February 28, 2009, 09:00:54 PM »

Offline Becky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Helpful? 0
  • "Bollocks to the rules" (George Orwell)
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #14 on: March 09, 2009, 04:34:51 AM »
Hello I am still having this problem - I have vista 64 edition and the newest AVR studio and the newest WinAVR and still get the same error... I have checked everything again and again and it is still the same - all of the suggestions in the post I think I have already done now so I am running out of options.

:(

Offline yerbie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #15 on: March 09, 2009, 08:04:53 AM »
Hello I am still having this problem - I have vista 64 edition and the newest AVR studio and the newest WinAVR and still get the same error... I have checked everything again and again and it is still the same - all of the suggestions in the post I think I have already done now so I am running out of options.

:(

what's the error you're getting?

Offline Becky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Helpful? 0
  • "Bollocks to the rules" (George Orwell)
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #16 on: March 09, 2009, 11:34:37 AM »
This is the baddie:

Photovore_v1.c:108: fatal error: opening dependency file .dep/Photovore_v1.o.d: No such file or directory
compilation terminated.
make: *** [Photovore_v1.o] Error 1
Build failed with 1 errors and 0 warnings...

  :-[

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,165
  • Helpful? 111
    • Webbot stuff
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #17 on: March 09, 2009, 07:42:20 PM »
Are you compiling from a command prompt with a makefile or from within AVRStudio?
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Becky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Helpful? 0
  • "Bollocks to the rules" (George Orwell)
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #18 on: March 12, 2009, 11:07:42 AM »
Are you compiling from a command prompt with a makefile or from within AVRStudio?
Straight from AVRStudio

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,176
  • Helpful? 5
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #19 on: March 12, 2009, 01:03:58 PM »
Try compiling it from command prompt. Like so:

cd C:\to\projectfolder

than type make

projectfolder would be where you code is.
Robots are awesome!

Offline Becky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Helpful? 0
  • "Bollocks to the rules" (George Orwell)
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #20 on: March 13, 2009, 11:28:22 AM »
it says :

make: *** No targets.  Stop.

 :(

Offline Trumpkin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,176
  • Helpful? 5
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #21 on: March 13, 2009, 11:33:44 AM »
Are you sure you "cd" to the correct directory?
Robots are awesome!

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
    • Nerdcore - Programming, Electronics, Mechanics
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #22 on: March 13, 2009, 12:49:50 PM »
You have to be in the directory containing the Makefile before typing make.

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,165
  • Helpful? 111
    • Webbot stuff
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #23 on: March 13, 2009, 01:07:13 PM »
Are you compiling from a command prompt with a makefile or from within AVRStudio?
Straight from AVRStudio

Becky,

The dependency files are used to track interdependencies between header files - ie change a header file and the compiler knows the subset of C files that need recompiling. Think they also have something to do with precompiled headers. But anyway - you aren't getting far - so all I can suggest is if you could ZIP the source folder and sub-folders and then post the ZIP file. Might help us to see whats going on. Sorry - but thats all I can suggest.

Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline webgeek

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #24 on: December 18, 2009, 10:56:58 PM »
Sorry for raising a dead post but it's still relevant today. Did you ever get this fixed? I've just hit it and wanted to call out that even with the absolute latest WinAVR and AVRStudio releases this bug still exists. The fix is to just replace the msys-1.0.dll in the <parent dir>\WinAVR-<release>\utils\bin folder with the one available here: http://www.madwizard.org/electronics/articles/winavrvista

That fixed it for me immediately. The error text doesn't match what is on that site, but that's OK - it's still the same underlying "fork process" issue. Good luck!

Mike

Offline Fleet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 robot compiling error
« Reply #25 on: November 05, 2010, 10:51:23 AM »
I can confirm webgeek's error. I have just had the same issue on Vista x64. Maybe a notice about this could be added in the programming tutorial for the $50-bot?

Best regards, Fleet

 


Get Your Ad Here