go away spammer

Author Topic: Gear Ratio and motor selection  (Read 2020 times)

Offline SilverFadeTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Gear Ratio and motor selection
« on: August 17, 2013, 04:25:14 PM »
I am new to robotics and am having trouble with motor selection and gear ratios. I am working on a project where I need to move a cylindrical rod in a pendulum motion about 2' from the center point forward and backward in about 5 seconds/direction. The rod weighs approximately 60lbs and is about 3' long. I visualize this as the motor will be stationary with a gear attached to the motor shaft, the gear will drive several other gears (this is where I am trying to figure out the number of gears, their size, tooth count,...) the last gear will turn a shaft that will turn the rod.

My questions are;
What size DC motor should I use(the smaller the better)?
How many gears will I need?
Gear size, tooth count, and how to orient the gears in a suitable manner.

I know these are a lot of questions, but even being pointed to a proper website with this information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
SilverFade

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
Re: Gear Ratio and motor selection
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2013, 11:50:02 PM »
Long before trying to figure gear tooth count work out, calculate, the gear reduction ratio required.
Before this decide on the motion speed of the rod you need to move and the torque required to move this rod, mass, at what rate of acceleration.
Then you can start to choose a gear ratio and the motor.

Offline jwatte

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 82
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2013, 03:10:53 PM »
You probably want to make that rod counter-balanced, or you're going to have to fight gravity AND inertia at the same time.