Author Topic: advice on motors and gearboxs  (Read 1766 times)

Offline diverdanTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
advice on motors and gearboxs
« on: February 18, 2011, 04:48:02 AM »
I am new to working with motors and gearboxes. I need to build a system that rotates one rotation an hour.  However would be good to have some control on speed. The motor will be powering a mount to rotate a camera for motion control.

You can see an example I did here.  GoPro underwater time-laps & motion control rotating head.
This was done with an egg timer, But i want more torque, and be able to carry a bigger camera.
Any advise would be great. I live in the Uk. Where can I buy the good to get the goods?

Dan

Offline Fr0stAngel

• Helpful? 3
  • [O_O] what??
Re: advice on motors and gearboxs
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2011, 02:35:15 PM »
I'd say go for a stepper motor , can fit your torque requirements and speed control.
Sorry i dont know about any online stores for that, as i get all my stuff from the local electronics market.. :(
'crazy' is the new hype! =)

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2011, 11:00:22 PM »
Hi,

I am new to working with motors and gearboxes. I need to build a system that rotates one rotation an hour.  However would be good to have some control on speed. The motor will be powering a mount to rotate a camera for motion control.
A DC motor followed by worm gears would be my choice.

Something like 3 sets of "worm plus 50 teeth wheel" would fit a motor going slightly over 2,000 RPM (for 1 RPH).
This motor can be driven by a PWM regulator (simple) or, if you want to be able to time it precisely, by a small microcontroller (but then you would need to program the controller and buy or make the hardware to do that).

This was done with an egg timer, But i want more torque, and be able to carry a bigger camera.