Author Topic: R/C Wheelchair PWM to Analog  (Read 10187 times)

Offline wingnutTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
R/C Wheelchair PWM to Analog
« on: May 02, 2009, 06:59:00 AM »
I am preparing to start a new project and was looking for some pointers before I get to far in my design. The concept is your standard R/C wheelchair. I have found much information on the conversion to R/C, but they all involve the purchase of a new motor controller. I have a functioning Merits chair with its PG controller, and I am having a hard time just throwing this perfectly good controller away and starting with something new. The question I have involves the attached spec sheet for the controllers joystick. I would like some suggestions for a component (pre-made or DIY) that would receive the signal from the R/C receiver and take the place of the chairs joystick for input to the chairs controller. I am new to circuit design, but would like to learn and this is my opportunity.

Would a programmable chip be the best bet or discrete components? I would like to do this as efficiently as possible, both in terms of cost and circuit design. If anyone knows of something that exists, or an example I can learn from, I would be very grateful. Thanks. Anxiously awaiting your suggestions.

--wingnut

Offline SmAsH

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: R/C Wheelchair PWM to Analog
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2009, 07:10:59 AM »
if the joystick uses pots you could stick a servo on each pot axis and have them do the job?
Howdy

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2009, 07:27:44 AM »
SmAsH,
Thanks for the reply. I was hoping to go servo free.
How I see it in my mind:

R/C Receiver Output (PWM?)--->Input of new circuit (conversion to required voltage per joystick spec sheet)--->Circuit output to controllers input (taking the place of the actual Joystick)