Society of Robots - Robot Forum

Software => Software => Topic started by: Hasan999 on January 01, 2010, 06:42:47 PM

Title: [Axon] Programming a Continuous Rotation Servo
Post by: Hasan999 on January 01, 2010, 06:42:47 PM
It's a HSR-1425CR servo... although its not a normal Servo, is it still possible to fix its rotation to any known position?

For example: Centering the CR servo, when I use servo(PORTA,1,700); in a for loop, it still rotates :/

If its not possible to control the positions of H-CR, is it possible to somehow transform the servo into a 180ยบ servo?

Thanks..
Title: Re: [Axon] Programming a Continuous Rotation Servo
Post by: SmAsH on January 01, 2010, 07:19:33 PM
Have you tried changing the values a bit?
It might be that the servos center value is different from the one you have in your code resulting in the servo
still rotating... How fast does the servo still rotate with that code? Full speed? Half speed?
Title: Re: [Axon] Programming a Continuous Rotation Servo
Post by: Hasan999 on January 02, 2010, 06:58:57 PM
thanks SmAsh ... using Trial n Error, I could get my servo to "STOP"

BUT

I can only control its rotation SPEED... not its position !!

i.e. if servo(PORTA,1,685) doesn't let the (continuous rotation) servo move, then if I try 690, it will continuously move (slower speed) in one direction.

Is it possible to control "positions" of a Continuous Rotation Servo ?
Thanks
Title: Re: [Axon] Programming a Continuous Rotation Servo
Post by: SmAsH on January 02, 2010, 07:07:26 PM
Well, yes and no... You would have to know how far it travels in a set amount of time and let it run for a certain amount of time to turn it a certain amount.
Title: Re: [Axon] Programming a Continuous Rotation Servo
Post by: Hasan999 on January 02, 2010, 07:10:30 PM
but since I need to set it in 1 fixed position, once I switch the microcontroller ON ...i guess its not possible then :(

anyway, thanks !

I'll probably buy 4 Standard servos for replacement..
Title: Re: [Axon] Programming a Continuous Rotation Servo
Post by: SmAsH on January 02, 2010, 10:09:47 PM
Yeah, that's probably easier :-\
Title: Re: [Axon] Programming a Continuous Rotation Servo
Post by: Admin on January 05, 2010, 01:03:58 AM
You can always add an encoder to your servo for position *and* speed control.