Author Topic: Connecting 2 or more Avrs together Awsome!  (Read 5124 times)

Offline santiagoTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Connecting 2 or more Avrs together Awsome!
« on: May 19, 2008, 05:03:23 PM »
Is it possible to connect 2 or more AVRs together? I think you can do this with the ARM ucontroller.

If possible how would one go about doing this?

Finally, what would be the benefits of doing this and the downside of doing this?

Any comments concerning the above would be extremely appreciate!

Offline Nyx

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Connecting 2 or more Avrs together Awsome!
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2008, 05:17:39 PM »
I'm no microcontroller expert, but you'd think you can just connect one of the in/out port of one processor to an in/out port of another... And you might be able to daisy chain them.

Upsides:
- More processing power
- More total usable I/O ports

Downsides:
- Communication delay
- More programming work
- Less usable resources per processor

Each microcontroller would have to have its own programming, including some kind of communication system.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2008, 05:18:27 PM by Nyx »

Offline izua

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 0
    • izua electronics
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2008, 05:19:07 PM »
what are you trying to achieve?
you can connect anything to anything else as long as they don't short eachother and they are aware of some protocol.

use i2c for example, or some form of serial (if only 2 peers are needed). You can also use more pins, in some form of parallel communication advantages, tasks will be divided by the numbers of avrs (think multicore). disadvantages, well, you need to rule out some protocol, who's who, and so on, and design the main program around that protocol.
Check out my homepage for in depth tutorials on microcontrollers and electronics.

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2008, 07:18:37 PM »