Author Topic: Is there any nice kits??  (Read 8034 times)

Offline RoboChanTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Is there any nice kits??
« on: June 09, 2009, 03:13:43 PM »
Hello im new to robots. My school team came in 4th in agbot at NRC. But i only used lego and i want to know how to build and mostly program real robots. Are there any nice kits out there that come with a microcontroller and some parts that could teach me this. I belive in "you get what you pay for" so im willing to get a nice kit.

Thanks

Offline SmAsH

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Is there any nice kits??
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2009, 03:41:45 PM »
well, if you want the satisfaction of doing it yourself check out the $50 robot http://www.societyofrobots.com/step_by_step_robot.shtml this little tutorial covers everything to get you started with avr's and programming.
otherwise there are thousands of robot kits out there but they are generally quite overpriced and you don't get the satisfaction of making it yourself...
im sure if you wanted a "nice robot" you could make your own and touch it up with snazzy wheels etc...
Howdy

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2009, 03:56:36 PM »
not like a robot kit. i can build anything. I wnat a kit with a microcontroller like some leds or something and a book to teach me how to program.

My goal is that maybe later i can make a 2 by 2 by 2 125lbs sumo bot with big DC motors and stuff but i have no clue how to program C. I like having a book to look off of becouse i cant always be looking at the internet to find out how to do something.

Offline SmAsH

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 75
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2009, 04:10:11 PM »
ahh, then i would recommend the arduino or roboduino...
the arduino is easier to hook led's up to but the roboduino is easier to hook sensors ans servos up to...
check them out! www.arduino.cc and http://www.curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino
Howdy

Offline GearMotion

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 24