go away spammer

Author Topic: 4-leg 16-servo robot: choosing a controller  (Read 2592 times)

Offline anvoiceTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
4-leg 16-servo robot: choosing a controller
« on: June 28, 2015, 02:30:38 PM »
Hello,

I am very new to robotics (science degree), but would like to learn as much as I can. As one of my starter projects, I am making a 4-legged, 16-servo (4 servos/leg) walking robot. I was hoping it would be a platform for me to learn both robotics, electronics and programming, so I would give it more advanced capabilities as I go along. Planning to start by making it walk and do other basic commands, send sensor data, etc. The arduino should be sufficient for this purpose. I'd like to eventually move on to streaming video to a PC/phone for remote control, then semi-autonomous operation where the robot can start making some of its own decisions to avoid obstacles, climb stairs, etc.

One of the problems I am facing is the best choice of microcontroller/computer for the robot. I did read a lot of material on the topic, but couldn't find a definitive answer as to what would be better for my specific project. Specifically, I am choosing between an arduino and a raspberry pi, and would like to hear opinions on which might work.