Author Topic: Which one of these servos?  (Read 2421 times)

Offline lurk26Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Which one of these servos?
« on: December 10, 2010, 01:01:59 AM »
I was looking around on ebay for some cheap servos and I came across these two :

SG-90
http://cgi.ebay.com/4x-Genuine-SG90-Micro-Servo-9g-7-5g-Fit-Airplane-Heli-/390264985734?pt=Radio_Control_Parts_Accessories&hash=item5add9b1886

ESKY EK2-0508
http://cgi.ebay.com/GENUINE-4x-ESKY-EK2-0508-Micro-Servo-Belt-CP-V2-King-RC-/390264986228?pt=Radio_Control_Parts_Accessories&hash=item5add9b1a74

Since its my first time with servos I don't understand which one is better for me.
I'll be using these servos for steering and other small tasks.
Can these servos do atleast 120degree of controlled rotation?
I might modify them for continuous rotation for use in some lightweight robots but thats secondary.

Another thing that I just can't seem to figure out is, why do we buy servos and then modify them($50 robot) for continuous rotation when you can simply get dc gearhead motors without all the circuitry?
« Last Edit: December 10, 2010, 01:12:50 AM by lurk26 »

Offline Joker94

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 26
Re: Which one of these servos?
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2010, 02:54:14 AM »
hi lurk26

If I had my time again new about Hobby King I would have defiantly gone there and not eBay. I have found they have better qualities servos at a better price. it is also a good place to get things like batteries and chargers.

going on the servos you posted i would look at the following 2 that seem suitable

http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=10344

http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=662

and the shipping is a decent price too!