go away spammer

Author Topic: new to electronics and engineering, need help  (Read 4815 times)

Offline extreme.alyTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
new to electronics and engineering, need help
« on: July 29, 2008, 04:01:02 PM »
hello, as i said, i'm a beginner, i have a lots of questions to ask..

first is, i have seena lots of robots that moves their hands, legs, etc etc.. how do they do it in such a small space?? i mean what motor do they use it? is it servo? but servo is too big... or is it a stepper motor?
second, how can i make axle of a car? i mean, how do i make the tires to turn left or right? well i dont want the one reverse and one forward method...any samples of mechanics?

today i have bought my first microprocessor (atmega8) and im very excited to make sumthing awsumm!

thanks! :)

Offline izua

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 0
    • izua electronics
Re: new to electronics and engineering, need help
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2008, 04:11:22 PM »
do you have a programmer for the atmega?
mechanics shouldn't be your first concern.
Check out my homepage for in depth tutorials on microcontrollers and electronics.

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2008, 01:57:17 AM »
oh eah i forgot to ask that main question but i have a bit information about it... i'll connect MOSI/MISO/SCK/RESET, also the VCC pin and GND pins to the serial port and program with PonyProg.. am i right? will that do it?

Offline izua

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 0
    • izua electronics
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2008, 09:03:32 AM »
Yes. You connect programmer's MISO to atmega's MISO, and so on. then you must add a clock source to your atmega (by default it works with internal clock).
Anyway, fix an objective and try to focus on that.

to get that much power in such a small space you genneraly use BLDC motors or solenoids. Servos are also a good choice, but for such high powers they are not small.