go away spammer

Author Topic: MOSFET/IGBT based full bridge motor driver  (Read 5739 times)

Offline ambcorp2000Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
MOSFET/IGBT based full bridge motor driver
« on: October 03, 2011, 12:25:30 AM »
I used to be an industry expert on MOSFET/IGBT a long time ago but do not claim to be anywhere near that anymore. I have seen motor drivers sold for $30+ and it seems a lot to me. I was wondering if anyone here has a schematic of a MOSFET based successful driver that is reversible and also integrates motor breaking. I could design one pretty fast but gone are the days of discrete electronics that I used to design the bootstrapped drivers of the top 2 n-channel MOSFETs of the H-bridge. I searched eBay hoping to get to an IC based full H-Driver but could only get to A3986SLDT and this thing is kind of overpriced. I will appreciate if someone can suggest a cheaper alternative. Thanks!!

Offline Fr0stAngel

• Helpful? 3
  • [O_O] what??
Re: MOSFET/IGBT based full bridge motor driver
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2011, 11:18:48 AM »
umm...  could you be more specific in your needs? like what would be the maximum current draw for your project?

if its not much, then try looking for "L293D" and "L298" motor drivers...
'crazy' is the new hype! =)

Offline joe61

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 16
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2011, 11:28:43 AM »
Maybe this will help http://www.bobblick.com/techref/projects/hbridge/hbridge.html

I think I got that from Soren, if so it's probably a good design.

Joe

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2011, 01:24:41 PM »