Author Topic: PC Robot idea(End Goal is a single ball balancing bot)  (Read 3504 times)

Offline Robotboy86Topic starter

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
PC Robot idea(End Goal is a single ball balancing bot)
« on: July 12, 2007, 04:50:27 PM »
I have spent the last few months researching the best way to meet my long-term robotic goal.  I have had considerable experience with lamer robotic systems(VEX), and also with programming.  Both in BASIC and in C.  On top of that I am a PC Technician, and I am familiar with RC cars.  It kind of all pooled together in the last few months to give me some great ideas in regards to robots.

The idea?  A single robotic platform that balances on a single ball.  Obviously a very aggressive goal for someone getting into robotics on a hardware level for the first time..    that is of course just a long term goal.

For now, my part list resembles this:

Jetway Mini-ITX motherboard, 80gb SATA 2.5 Drive, Jetway serial Daughter board(For a total of 6 serial connections, which is about 40+ serial lines). 

BasicAtom Pro-24m/IO Bot Board

I have some old 6v motors that are very loose and weak, but will do well to set the system up until I can afford real motors. 

I have an old PC PSU I plan to use on the Mini-ITX Board until I can afford to purchase the batteries and power conventors

Those are items that are on there way to my house/already there.

Items of needed to be ordered:

A analog MEMS Gyroscope/Acceleramator board that will give me accurate pitch/roll/yaw and such for use in balancing. 

Better motors because the ones I am using is being done simply to get the basic sub systems working..

I plan to first set the Mini-ITX board up with arch linux(because I am very familiar with it, and its very basic) and either write a serial driver for the basic atom board, or use a pre-existing one(I am not sure which one yet).