Author Topic: Control 6 motors  (Read 3642 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline robotcyTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Control 6 motors
« on: February 07, 2010, 07:17:34 AM »
what microcontoller  should i use to control 6 motors (both directions)?

I was going to use a picaxe 28x1 with a picaxe project board but it turns out i can use up to three motors. Is there  a way to connect 2 picaxe chips?

Offline Kylepowers

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2010, 09:51:22 PM »
The axon and axon II are good for multilimbed robots what are you trying to do walking or is it an arm? second question you asked you might be able to but im not familier with the board.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,703
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2010, 12:31:16 AM »
You'll also need motor drivers.

6 motors = 3 dual motor drivers.

For example:
How to Make a Robot with Axon II MCU

Offline robotcyTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2010, 06:18:22 AM »
my robot will be autonomous and will have 4 motors one for each wheel and 2 additional motors to manipulate cans and tetra packs. What language can i program the axon in? It turns out i can  connect 2 picaxe 28x1 but the axon chips seems nice

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,703
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2010, 06:27:06 AM »
If you want autonomous, in that case you need a microcontroller.

My ERP sounds like its close to what you want, and it uses the Axon. All of my source code is open source.

Robot Grabs & Throws ERP test

Offline robotcyTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2010, 10:37:44 AM »
Really nice :o

Offline Hertz32

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2010, 11:58:22 AM »
*mysticly* i see u using the romeo arduino it has many I/O sockets and is a bargain at less than $40 pending on where u get it from. *snigger*

Offline robotcyTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2010, 01:20:40 PM »
ooh seems nice too,..
 i can add motor controllers (l293d) to this dont i?

Offline Hertz32

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2010, 01:23:17 PM »
aaahhhh u havn't read all its features it has a motor controller built in!!

Offline robotcyTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2010, 01:34:31 PM »
yes ive read it but it can controll just 2 motors if am not wrong :/

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2010, 02:54:44 PM »
Yup, id say go with an arduino/roboduino and three dual motor drivers.
Do you know what the current draw will be from each motor?
Howdy

Offline robotcyTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2010, 03:03:07 PM »
am not quite sure but ive previously used the same motors using L293D.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #12 on: February 08, 2010, 11:52:11 PM »
am not quite sure but ive previously used the same motors using L293D.
Ah, so the current draw isn't much then... Well then, you could just use the arduino, motor drivers...
What do you mean by two motors to manipulate, you mean like arms?
Howdy

Offline robotcyTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #13 on: February 09, 2010, 03:42:40 AM »
i mean something like a gripper Or two moving surfaces.

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #14 on: February 09, 2010, 04:28:47 AM »
the romeo arduino sounds like it would suit your needs, you could use the 2 inbuilt motor drivers for the minipulation and use two dual motor drivers, my new robot runs the arduino and i really like it.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #15 on: February 09, 2010, 04:30:08 AM »
But the romeo is more expensive than an arduino and 3 motor drives?
Howdy

Offline robotcyTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #16 on: February 09, 2010, 04:49:25 AM »
i can use any motor driver i want or just arduino motor drivers?

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #17 on: February 09, 2010, 04:58:20 AM »
well it depend on what arduino you get the mega is $65, the stamp is 33 but you have to spend all the other money on the accessories. I suppose there is the pro and pro mini boards.

It is the question that gets all newbies "what board do i get for this job" and nearly every time every one suggests the same board as they always do.

well are you planning on continuing robotics after as if you are make a decision on a board you'll be happy with for a long time. Do you have a budget? if so what is it. if it a university or other funding go for the better ones(if your not restricted to make it as affordable as possible)

regards

Joker94

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #18 on: February 09, 2010, 05:00:29 AM »
any motor drivers, if you have the funds go for the better ones for better performance. the Sabertooth from Dimenssion engineering. but they are kinda pricey and if you need three well thats allot.

well answering your question no you can use any.

Offline robotcyTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #19 on: February 09, 2010, 06:55:40 AM »
newbie question : whats with all the buttons on arduino romeo? o_0 indeed cybertooth are kinda expensive so am probably going with some L293D

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #20 on: February 10, 2010, 02:29:53 AM »
they are there for your use. they have some jumper pins to connect them so when they are no in use they don't use up any i/o. They are handy when you need to initialize a a new function, set the robot doing a particular function(eg. S1 could be scan room to convey data to the computer for a map and S2 might be setting the robot going.)

they are also handy when you are learning to code as you can use the to blink leds, turn a servo etc.

S1-S5 are on the analogue pin
S6 digital pin
S7 digital pin

Quote
indeed cybertooth are kinda expensive so am probably going with some L293D

indeed very expensive for 3

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,165
  • Helpful? 111
    • Webbot stuff
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #21 on: February 10, 2010, 03:21:55 AM »
But of course if you use WebbotLib then its not a problem. Has built in support for L293D and many other motor controllers.

For the Axon it would be a breeze.

Can't comment on Romeo as I've never really managed to get any decent schematics for those duino things (except Roboduino). They seem to want to tie you into Arduino software by making the hardware unintelligible to everyone else. I'm sure they're great (for committed duinoids!).

Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: Control 6 motors
« Reply #22 on: February 10, 2010, 03:30:06 AM »
i know webbot, there is no decent schematic out there. i'll have to see what i can do about it.

the Romeo is a great board but and Axon and Webbotlib would be really easy.

 


Get Your Ad Here