go away spammer

Author Topic: microcontroller newb, what should I get?  (Read 4625 times)

Offline kevinisnekkidTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
    • Golden Bares
microcontroller newb, what should I get?
« on: August 21, 2008, 07:57:53 PM »
I admit, I'm a microcontroller newb... but hey, gotta start sometime.

I am comfortable enough with computer programming that I don't care what language a chip uses. I'm fluent in C, C++, BASIC, etc.... I can even scratch out ASM, but I prefer not to. I've seen the topics on PIC vs. AVR. I've heard that a BASIC stamp isn't worth much. I've heard of hardware programmers. But I admit I get abit lost reading details I don't fully understand.

I want the most for my money. If I have schematics, and directions, I can build anything I need. I want to be able to reuse the chip when I'm tired of a simple design, and put it in something more complex. Or should I just get a handful of the same kind of chip so I don't have to keep learning new chips for each design I make? I've seen that I can get some PIC samples free. And even the fancy PIC chips are cheap... but I saw the price of the programmers...

So what should I get, and why?
Robots don't hide what they are.

Offline Penth

• Helpful? 0
Re: microcontroller newb, what should I get?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2008, 08:12:34 PM »
If money isn't a huge concern, get Admin's Axon.

Offline MarkBrown

• Helpful? 0
    • Mark's Projects
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2008, 08:14:52 PM »