Author Topic: Hello and my robot.  (Read 4581 times)

Offline CrooksieTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Hello and my robot.
« on: January 03, 2008, 02:35:20 PM »
Hi everyone, I have been using this site for about 6 months now and would first like to say how brilliant it is and the resources available on it have been extremely useful to me. I am 17 and live in the UK, currently doing (and failing) A-Levels in ICT, Mathematics and Physics.

About six months ago I had the dream of building a robot, I had never really done anything like that before, and after stumbling the web I came across this site.  I had a fair bit programming experience and a GCSE in electronics (which in my opinion doesn't count for anything because most of my class past without being able to tell you what a diode does, or even what ohms law is) and some basic woodworking skills (well I can almost saw in a straight line).

After seeing the $50 robot I was inspired to build my own version of it.  So I got a job, after a few months had saved up a few hundred pounds, which I spent buying everything I thought I would need to design and build my own robot.  One of the best things I bought was a piece of software called Circuit Wizard, which allows me to design circuits and test them, and the convert the schematics to a pcb layout(it has an auto route feature but I don't really like it).  Using the tutorials on SoR and Spark fun, I designed a micro controller board based on the ATMega 168, and etched a pcb at home using the toner transfer method (Google for those of you unfamiliar with this method).

After Several months of soldering, sawing and drilling I finally finished (well finished for now) my robot on Sunday night.  Then after couple of sleepless nights of programing (Admin's code didn't work on my robot, so I wrote my own) and learning C (I already knew a couple of similar programing languages so it didn't take long to pick up) I finished my robot.

Offline hazzer123

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 3