go away spammer

Author Topic: Tyco Tri Clops Hack help  (Read 2527 times)

Offline madchimpTopic starter

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 2
Tyco Tri Clops Hack help
« on: October 13, 2008, 06:35:11 AM »
I'm new to the whole robotics thing and would like some input. Quite some time ago I got an OOPic-R board to start my robotics experience but a lack of funds held things up a bit. A couple weeks ago I saw the Tyco Tri Clops on Clearance and thought it would make a good base so I got it. I've started taking it apart and from looking at the pcb I'm thinking I can use it to drive the motors and of course the disc shooter. I've included pictures and explanations below.
This is just a picture of the Main pcb

This is a close up of #1 I'm pretty sure it's the reciever which is under the main pcb and connected by three wires. I think I might incorporate it into the robot untill i can get a better remote control system but that is undecided.

The picture on the left is #2 and the picture on the right is on the underside of the main pcb right below #2. There are eight of each of these chips and there is two of each chip near where each of the four motors hook up so I'm guessing H-Bridge. I've tried to google and find any kind of specs for these so I know what they can take as far as pwm and such but no luck yet was hoping maybe someone here might be able to shed some light on it.

The next picture is whats under the metal case in #3. I'm guessing it's some sort of micro controller but it's kinda hidden by the black epoxy. I'm thinking I might be able to pull this board out and make a new board to go in it's place with a header on it instead of a micro so I can hook my OOPic-R up to it and control all of the functions of the Tri Clops.

This is the underside of the pcb showing how the board above connects to the main pcb.

#4 in the top picture is a header for the laser sight and the two leds in the front of the vehicle