go away spammer

Author Topic: What stops grippers from crushing objects?  (Read 2103 times)

Offline KelpyTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
What stops grippers from crushing objects?
« on: September 04, 2010, 02:05:01 PM »
Presumably, some sort of code can be written, which tells the processor when the servo operating grippers comes up against resistance.
Is it an easy bit of code (bearing in mind I'm a complete noob)
Can someone advise me, ( or better still, share the code  ;) )
Cheers.

Offline Razor Concepts

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 53
    • RazorConcepts
Re: What stops grippers from crushing objects?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2010, 02:06:28 PM »
Force/pressure sensors on the gripper

Motor current monitoring - if current gets high, motor is stalling and gripping something

Offline Joker94

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 26
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2010, 04:01:02 AM »
on many robot grippers, more often seen on the robots that i have been involved with at the uni use force sensors. they prefer this method over the motor monitoring method due to the fact that they find the information more usable/accurate.

for us robot hobbyists resistance sensors like

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=9375

and

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=9376

can be used to get the results you are after.

As for writing some code to incorporate these sensors into the system you would say something along the lines of, if over the resistance threshold pause the gripper movement until instructed to release. when programmed what would happen is when it senses that it has a firm grip on an object sop the contracting movement maintaining enough force to hold the object. the object would maintain in that position unless instructed otherwise by a sensor or human control.

cheers

Joker94

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2010, 09:25:38 AM »
Many thanks for your replies, guys.